I bet December took a lot out of your wallet, huh? Well, so did mine! Because it’s January and there’s that “New Year’s Resolution,” it’s time to fix that bad spending habit! Like mine! Yay!

Intuit’s Mint is a personal budget app that let’s me see how much money I spent, how much is left in my bank account, and how much I earned! I’ve been using this app since 2011. At first, I was apprehensive because I had to use my social security number but I took the plunge and never looked back. I know that giving out one’s social security is scary but Mint prioritizes in protecting my information from bad guys out there. Additionally, it will alert me if there’s anything suspicious happening with my accounts.

It also reminds me when my next bill is due, and it let’s me know what credit score I have and what it means. Mint can also draw up trends in my spending and net income which is awesome as it does encourage me to be budget conscious, and not exceed what I earn each month. The trends will show up as a pie (for spending) and bar charts (for spending as well as net income). If you’re as paranoid as me, well, let me tell you the good news. Mint has an option to put in a passcode!

Last but not the least and the #1  reason why I still have this is its ability to set up a budget each month starting on the 1st day of the month. When I set up a budget, I think about how much I spend per category. For example, I commute so I allot USD 75.00 into public transportation. When it comes to overall budgeting, you really have to know your bills and have an idea of how much you spend per month. That way, you stay on track and actually see what you’re spending each month.

To be honest, I don’t really have any cons for this app. I have never had a problem before even when I was registering my cards. If I were to nit pick, it would be setting up an online account with my cards since that’s an extra step during registration; that is, if you don’t have an online account with your banks.

Unfortunately, I won’t be able to give you guys any sneak peeks as I am using the app. However, the 3 app stores below will have the previews you need!

Available on:

Get it on Google Play  Download from Windows Store

2 thoughts on “My App: Mint – Personal Finance & Money

Leave a Reply

